Carry with Confidence

Loading...

Full day of training 

    • Confidence Saves Lives

      This one-day class gives you the skills you need to carry a concealed weapon responsibly and the confidence to use your gun when it matters most. That confidence often actually leads you to be LESS likely to use lethal force than if you had less skill. Our friendly, knowledgeable staff will work closely with you to help you become a confident shooter—regardless of how much experience you may or may not have with a gun.

      Most people that get a CCW permit never carry!

      It's true. We've talked with hundreds of individuals like this and the #1 reason they didn't carry was that they lacked confidence to do it right and safely. THAT STOPS WITH THIS CLASS.

      At the end of this class you will be comfortable carrying, or your money back.

      Training for the Real World

      We teach you how to manage your gun in your house, car, and urban environments. You will also learn how to load and unload your gun safely (it's trickier than you'd think when at home or around other people), how to holster safely when concealed, and we get you shooting accurately on a 1/3rd torso target at 5 yards at "gun fight speed" (4 to 5 shots per second). 

      Knowing is Half the Battle

      Do you know how to evaluate life threatening situations? We introduce you to the Tactical Decision Equation, a structured way to think about situations you encounter, including visualizing them beforehand. We also teach you 4 simple tenets of gun fighting, how to avoid fights, what to do with your gun if you need to use it, and finally how to handle yourself when the police arrive.

      Gift Cards Available

      Want to share this class with a friend? Surprise him or her with a gift card!

      Gear to Bring

      • Safe and functioning handgun (semi-automatic or revolver)
      • Sturdy belt
      • Safe holster with hard sides (kydex or leather). No pancake soft holsters please
      • Eye protection
      • Hearing protection. We prefer over the ear earmuffs, not foamies.
      • Sunscreen and snacks. We have water on hand.
      • 300 rounds of ammunition

      If you have questions about equipment, please contact us. 

      Location

      Class will be held at our classroom at the Southern Utah Practical Shooting Range (click for map).  

      Call to schedule your class!

 

  • Utah Concealed Firearm Permit

    The Utah concealed firearm permit is the most widely recognized permit and is currently accepted by over 35 states.

    How Much Does It Cost?

    The state of Utah requires a non-refundable fee of $37.00 for Utah residents or $47.00 for non-residents.

    This fee consists of $24.25 for Utah residents or $34.25 for non-residents for application and permit processing and $14.75 charged by the FBI to process your fingerprint cards. Please make checks and money orders payable to the “Utah Bureau of Criminal Identification.”

    The fees are not required at class, but are to be sent in to the state with the application we fill out with you in class, the id photos we print for you in class and the fingerprint card we make for you in class.

    Who is Eligible?

    Minimum requirements for application for a concealed firearms permit in Utah are:

    • Applicant must be at least 21 years of age
    • Proof of good character…whereas the applicant;
    • has not been convicted of a felony;
    • has not been convicted of any crime of violence;
    • has not been convicted of any offense involving the use of alcohol;
    • has not been convicted of any offenses involving the unlawful use of narcotics or other controlled substances;
    • has not been convicted of any offenses involving moral turpitude;
    • has not been convicted of any offense involving domestic violence;
    • has not been adjudicated by a court of a state or of the United States as mentally incompetent, unless the adjudication has been withdrawn or reversed
    • is qualified to purchase and possess a firearm pursuant to Section 76-10-503 and federal law

    A criminal background check is conducted for all applicants.

    What Must Accompany the Application?

    • A Photocopy of your Driver License
    • Photograph. One recent color photograph of passport quality.
    • Non-resident proof of permit. If you reside in a state that recognizes the validity of the Utah CFP or has reciprocity with Utah, you must obtain a CFP or CCW from your home state and submit a copy of it with your application for a Utah permit. For a list of reciprocal states click here. You are considered a resident of whichever state issued your ID. If your state does not recognize the Utah permit this does not apply.
    • Fingerprint Card. One fingerprint card. Must be filled out completely. Writing and prints must be legible. Fingerprint should be taken by a trained fingerprint technician. Fingerprint cards that are not legible will be returned to the applicant and will cause a delay in processing the application.
    • Weapon Familiarity Certification. Applicants must complete a firearms familiarity course certified by BCI. No exceptions. The course must be completed before you apply for a permit. Please have your instructor complete the certification information on the application.